You're viewing documentation for release 6 (LTS). Looking for a different release?

Manage user groups

In OrgAdmin, you can create user groups to control your users’ access to your organization’s licenses.

Create groups and assign users to them based on your organization’s needs to manage user access. For example, a common use case is to control access in a different way for employees and contractors, and manage these users in separate groups.

You cannot grant an individual user access to licenses directly—the authorization always comes through a group.

See more on how to grant users access to licenses.

View user groups

  1. In the left sidebar, go to User groups.

    The list of your organization’s user groups opens.

  2. To view a group’s details, click the Tools menu > View details for the group.

    A dialog opens, displaying the group’s details. You can check which licenses the group has access to: Entitlements lists the entitlements the group has access to, and clicking an entitlement shows the entitlement’s details. You can also define which users belong to the group by clicking Members.

Create a user group

Your organization has some predefined user groups available, and you can create more groups if needed. You can also give the new group access to licenses right away.

To create a user group:

  1. In the left sidebar, go to User groups and click Create. A dialog opens.

  2. In Name, define a name for the group.

  3. In Type, enter a type for the group.

    You can enter a custom type or one of the predefined group types:

    • employees: The group type to be used for your organization’s employees.

      Compared to licenseConsumers, this group type provides users with wider access to your organization’s data.

      Your organization can only have one user group of this type. This is typically created for you by default.

    • licenseConsumers: The group type to be used for (non-employee) users.

      This is an example group type that can be used, for example, to group users who are external to your organization but allowed to use the organization’s licenses.

  4. In Description (optional), enter a description for the group.

  5. In Entitlements (optional), grant the group access to licenses by selecting the entitlements that hold those licenses. You can also do this later.

  6. Click Create to create the group.

Next, you can add existing users to the group, or invite or import new and existing users to the group.

Edit a user group

You can edit a user group’s details and define which entitlements (licenses) the group can access:

  1. In the left sidebar, go to User groups.

  2. On the group list, click the Tools menu > View details for the group.

  3. In the dialog that opens, click Edit.

  4. Edit the details and change which entitlements the group has access to. This is done in the same way as when creating a new group.

    You cannot edit the group type of the predefined employees group.

  5. Click Apply.

Delete a user group

You can delete user groups, if needed, except for the predefined employees group. Deleting a user group doesn’t delete the users who belonged to that group.

The users in the deleted group lose access to the licenses that the group had access to, unless they still have access to the licenses through some other group. If the users have any seat reservations to the licenses, those are also released.

Note: If a user no longer belongs to any group of your organization, they will be removed from the organization.

If an administrator user no longer belongs to any of your user groups, this doesn’t automatically remove their administrator access to OrgAdmin. If needed, make sure to first remove their administrator access, and then delete the user group.

Instead of deleting a user group, you also have the option of removing the group’s access to licenses. See above how to edit a group.

To delete a user group:

  1. In the left sidebar, go to User groups.

  2. On the group list, click the Tools menu > Delete for the group.

  3. In the dialog that opens, click Delete to confirm.

If a user is currently using a license they no longer have access to, they are able to continue using the license until the license lease expires or the software application tries to refresh the lease, whichever comes first.