Manage device client groups
In OrgAdmin, you can create device client groups to control your device clients’ access to your organization’s licenses.
Create groups and assign device clients to them based on your organization’s needs to manage device client access.
You cannot grant an individual device client access to licenses directly—the authorization always comes through a group.
See more on how to grant device clients access to licenses.
View device client groups
-
In the left sidebar, go to Device client groups.
The list of your organization’s device client groups opens.
-
To view a group’s details, click the Tools menu > View details for the group.
A dialog opens, displaying the group’s details. You can check which licenses the group has access to: Entitlements lists the entitlements the group has access to, and clicking an entitlement shows the entitlement’s details. You can also define which device clients belong to the device client group by clicking Clients.
Create a device client group
Create device client groups as needed. You can also give the new group access to licenses right away.
To create a device client group:
-
In the left sidebar, go to Device client groups and click Create. A dialog opens.
-
In Name, define a name for the group.
-
In Description (optional), enter a description for the group.
-
In Entitlements (optional), grant the group access to licenses by selecting the entitlements that hold those licenses. You can also do this later.
-
Click Create to create the group.
Next, you can add existing device clients to the group, or invite new and existing device clients.
Edit a device client group
To edit a device client group’s details and define which entitlements (licenses) the group can access:
-
In the left sidebar, go to Device client groups.
-
On the group list, click the Tools menu > View details for the group.
-
In the dialog that opens, click Edit.
-
Edit the details and change which entitlements the group has access to. This is done in the same way as when creating a new group.
-
Click Apply.
Delete a device client group
You can delete device client groups, if needed. Deleting a device client group doesn’t delete the device clients that belonged to that group.
The device clients in the deleted group lose access to the licenses that the group had access to, unless they still have access to the licenses through some other group. If the device clients have any seat reservations to the licenses, those are also released.
Note: If a device client no longer belongs to any group of your organization, they won’t be removed from the organization.
Instead of deleting a device client group, you also have the option of removing the group’s access to licenses. See above how to edit a group.
To delete a device client group:
-
In the left sidebar, go to Device client groups.
-
On the group list, click the Tools menu > Delete for the group.
-
In the dialog that opens, click Delete to confirm.
If a device client is currently using a license it no longer has access to, it is able to continue using the license until the license lease expires or the software application tries to refresh the lease, whichever comes first.