Manage access to licenses
In OrgAdmin, you can manage your users’ and device clients’ access to the licenses your organization has purchased.
Access to licenses is based on group access to entitlements:
-
You set up user groups and device client groups, and grant the groups access to the entitlements that hold licenses.
-
Then you associate users and device clients with applicable groups. This allows them to use the licenses that their groups have access to.
See instructions below on how to add existing users and device clients to groups. You can also remove a user from the whole organization (all user groups) in one go.
If needed, you can also block users and device clients from using a license.
View which groups can access a license
-
In the left sidebar, go to Licenses.
-
On the license list, click the Tools menu > View details for the license. A dialog opens.
-
In Entitlement, click the entitlement that holds the license.
A dialog opens, displaying the entitlement’s details.
-
Click User groups or Client groups to view the groups that have access to this license.
Assign users and device clients to groups
Add users and device clients to a group to give them access to the licenses that a user group and device client group has access to.
You also have the option of inviting new and existing users and device clients to groups by email, or adding or inviting users to groups using a CSV import.
If you remove a user or device client from a group, they lose access to the group’s licenses and their seat reservations for the licenses are released, unless they belong to another group that still allows them access to those licenses.
If the removed user or device client is currently using a license they no longer have access to, they are able to continue using the license until the license lease expires or the software application tries to refresh the lease, whichever comes first.
Note: If you remove a user from all of your organization’s user groups, they won’t be visible in your OrgAdmin anymore.
When removing an administrator user from a user group, make sure to remove their administrator access to OrgAdmin when confirming the removal. Removing them from all user groups doesn’t remove their administrator access to OrgAdmin.
To define which users or device clients belong to a group:
-
In the left sidebar, go to User groups or Device client groups.
-
On the group list, click the Tools menu > Members or Clients for the group.
A dialog opens, displaying a list of all of your organization’s users or device clients.
The ones that are selected on the list already belong to the group.
-
Select and clear checkboxes on the list to define which users or device clients belong to the group.
To select or clear all checkboxes, click the checkbox on the header row.
-
Click Apply.
A confirmation dialog opens, displaying a list of changes to the group.
-
If you are removing administrator user(s) from the group, select Remove Admin access.
-
Click Yes to confirm.
Or, change which groups a specific user or device client belongs to:
-
In the left sidebar, go to Users or Device clients.
-
On the user list, click the Tools menu > Groups or Client groups for the user.
A dialog opens, displaying a list of all of your organization’s user or device client groups.
The ones selected on the list are where the user or device client currently belongs to.
-
Select and clear checkboxes on the list to define which groups the user or device client belongs to.
-
Click Apply.
A confirmation dialog opens, displaying a list of changes to the group.
-
If you are removing an administrator user from the group, select Remove Admin access.
-
Click Yes to confirm.
Remove a user from your organization
You can remove a user from your organization, which removes them from all of your organization’s user groups in one go.
Note: After this, the user won’t be visible in your OrgAdmin anymore.
To remove a user from your organization:
-
In the left sidebar, go to Users.
-
On the user list, click the Tools menu > Remove from organization for the user. A dialog opens.
You cannot remove yourself from the organization.
-
Enable Remove active license leases if you want to release any license seats the user currently has in use.
-
Click Remove to remove the user from the organization.
Block a user or device client from using a license
If needed, you can block a user or device client from using a seat-based, use count-based, and use time-based license. The user or device client cannot use the blocked license even if they have access to it through a group. For users, you also cannot download the license.
If the user or device client is currently using a license that you block for them, they are able to continue using the license until the license lease expires or the software application tries to refresh the lease, whichever comes first.
To block licenses for a user or device client:
-
In the left sidebar, go to Users or Device clients.
-
On the list, click the Tools menu > Licenses for the user or device client.
A dialog opens, displaying the licenses that the user or device client has access to.
-
In the BLOCKED column, change which licenses are blocked for the user or device client:
-
To block a license, click Block.
If the user or device client has a seat reservation for the license, blocking releases it.
-
To unblock a license, click Release.
-
-
Click Save, and then click Yes to confirm.
Or, to block a license for multiple users or device clients at a time:
-
In the left sidebar, go to Licenses.
-
On the license list, click the Tools menu > Usage for the license.
A dialog opens, displaying all of your organization’s users and device clients.
-
In the BLOCKED column, block and unblock users and device clients in the same way as above.
-
Click Apply, and then click Confirm to confirm.