You're viewing documentation for release 6 (LTS). Looking for a different release?

Manage roles

In OrgAdmin, you can create and manage the user roles of your organization. How these roles are used depends on your license vendor, but they are typically roles used for controlling your administrator users’ access to the OrgAdmin tool.

Your organization has a predefined default OrgAdmin role available. You can create more roles, for example, if your organization requires different levels of access rights for the administrators.

A role consists of a set of permissions, which determine how users with that role can access your organization’s data.

A permission specifies a protected resource and the actions allowed when accessing that resource. For example, a permission TelephoneNumber = create,update would grant access to creating and updating (the action) users’ phone numbers (the resource). The actions you can define in a permission vary per resource to some extent.

In addition to manually defining permissions for a role, you can also set a role to inherit permissions from other roles, or from role templates provided by your licence vendor.

View roles

  1. In the left sidebar, go to Roles.

    The list of your organization’s roles opens, showing information on each role such as the role type and name.

    The role type is Admin for the predefined default administrator role, and Custom for any custom roles created for your organization.

  2. To view a role’s details, click the Tools menu > View details for the role.

    A dialog opens, displaying the role’s details. The dialog also shows what permissions the role grants, and whether the role inherits any additional permissions from other roles. You can also assign the role to users by clicking Members.

Create a role

  1. In the left sidebar, go to Roles and click Create. A dialog opens.

  2. In Name, define a name for the role.

  3. In Description, enter a description of the role.

  4. Define the permissions for the role. Use one or both of the following options:

    • Included roles: Select the roles or role templates that this role inherits permissions from.

    • Included permissions: Select the permissions for this role, and define the actions allowed by each permission.

      In the action field, either enter a comma-separated list of actions, or enter an asterisk (*) as a wildcard to allow all actions available for the resource. Click Apply.

  5. Click Create to create the role.

Next, you can assign the new role to users (see below). When creating and editing roles, you can also use the new role for inheriting permissions.

Assign roles to users

OrgAdmin has features for granting administrator access, and all these features assign the predefined default OrgAdmin role.

Any custom roles need to be assigned from the Roles page.

Don’t assign roles to those users who only need to use your organization’s licenses. They just need access to the licenses through user groups.

To define which users have a role:

  1. In the left sidebar, go to Roles.

  2. On the role list, click the Tools menu > Members for the role.

    A dialog opens, displaying all of your organization’s users. The users that are selected on the list already have this role.

    Use the search to filter the list by name or email address (or a part of it).

  3. Select and clear checkboxes on the list to define which users have the role.

    To select or clear all checkboxes, click the checkbox on the header row.

  4. Click Apply, and then click Yes to confirm.

Edit a role

  1. In the left sidebar, go to Roles.

  2. On the role list, click the Tools menu > View details for the role.

  3. In the dialog that opens, click Edit.

  4. Edit the details and permissions. This is done in the same way as when creating a new role.

    If other roles inherit permissions from this role, the permission changes also affect those roles.

  5. Click Apply.

Delete a role

You can delete custom roles created for your organization. You cannot delete the predefined default Admin role.

If you delete a role that other roles inherit permissions from, the deleted role’s permissions are also removed from all those other roles.

To delete a role:

  1. In the left sidebar, go to Roles.

  2. On the role list, click the Tools menu > Delete for the role.

  3. In the dialog that opens, click Delete to confirm.